List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners

Bharat Ratna Award Winners

The Bharat Ratna award is the highest civilian award in India which was instituted in the year 1954. People are given the Bharat Ratna award for exceptional public service and exceptional performance in any human activity, including literature, science, and art.

Any individual in any occupation sex or position is qualified for the Bharat Ratna grant. The Bharat Ratna award can only be given to three people each year. The Bharat Ratna grant is introduced by the Leader of India. This grant is likewise granted after death, till now 16 individuals are granted Bharat Ratna post mortem.

Bharat Ratna Award Winners Name

In a year just three Bharat Ratna grants are granted. As indicated by the constitution, the Bharat Ratna can’t be utilized as a prefix or postfix to the beneficiary’s name. The beneficiary of the honor is worked with a sanad or testament endorsed by the president and a decoration.

The decoration is as a peepal leaf which is 5.8 cm long, 4.7 cm wide, and 3.1 mm thick. It is a bronze medal with an embossed sun image that measures 1.6 cm in diameter in the middle. The Moto of the nation and the state emblem are written in Devnagri script on the other side of the medal.

List of Bharat Ratna award winners

Bharat Ratna award is received by 48 persons and 17 were awarded posthumously. A list of all the people who were facilitated with the Bharat Ratna award is listed below with their contributions to society.

Year Recipients About
 Bharat Ratna 1954 C. Rajagopalachari Activist, statesman, and lawyer
 Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan  India’s first Vice-President and second President
C. V. Raman Physicists, mathematicians, and scientists
 Bharat Ratna 1955 Bhagwan Das Activist, philosopher, and educationist
M. Visvesvaraya Civil engineer, statesman, and Diwan of Mysore
Jawaharlal Nehru Activist and author served as the Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1957 Govind Ballabh Pant Activist and first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
Bharat Ratna 1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve Social reformer and educator
Bharat Ratna 1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy Physician, political leader, philanthropist, educationist, and social worker
Purushottam Das Tandon Activist and speaker of the United Provinces Legislative Assembly
Bharat Ratna 1962 Rajendra Prasad Activist, lawyer, statesman, and scholar
Bharat Ratna 1963 Zakir Husain Activist, economist, and education philosopher served as a Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University and the Governor of Bihar
Pandurang Vaman Kane Indologist and Sanskrit scholar, known for his five-volume literary work
Bharat Ratna 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri Activist and served as the second Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1971 Indira Gandhi  First women Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1975 V. V. Giri Trade Unionist
Bharat Ratna 1976 K. Kamaraj Independence activist and statesman, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1980 Mother Teresa  Catholic nun and the founder of the Missionaries of Charity.
1983 Vinoba Bhave  Activist, social reformer, and a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi
Bharat Ratna 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan First noncitizen, independence activist
Bharat Ratna 1988 M. G. Ramachandran Actor turned politician, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1990 B.R. Ambedkar Social reformer and leader of the Dalits
Nelson Mandela Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa, President of South Africa
Bharat Ratna 1991 Rajiv Gandhi Gandhi was the ninth Prime Minister of India serving from 1984 to 1989.
Vallabhbhai Patel Activist and first Deputy Prime Minister of India
Morarji Desai Activist, and Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1992 Abul Kalam Azad Activist and first Minister of education
J. R. D. Tata Industrialist, philanthropist, and aviation pioneer
Satyajit Ray Director, filmmaker, writer, novelist
Bharat Ratna 1997 Gulzarilal Nanda Activist, and interim Prime Minister of India.
Aruna Asaf Ali Activist
A.P.J Abdul Kalam Aerospace and defense scientist
Bharat Ratna 1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi Carnatic classical vocalist
Chidambaram Subramaniam Activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India
Bharat Ratna 1999 Jayaprakash Narayan  Activist, and social reformer
Amartya Sen Economist
Gopinath Bordoloi Activist
Ravi Shankar Musician, sitar player
Bharat Ratna 2001 Lata Mangeshkar Singer
Bismillah Khan Hindustani classical shehnai player
Bharat Ratna 2009 Bhimsen Joshi Hindustani classical vocalist
Bharat Ratna 2014 C. N. R. Rao  Chemist and professor, author
Sachin Tendulkar Cricketer
Bharat Ratna 2015 Madan Mohan Malaviya Scholar and educational reformer.
Atal Bihari Bajpayee Elected nine times to the Lok Sabha, twice to the Rajya Sabha, and served as the Prime Minister of India for three terms.
Bharat Ratna 2019 Pranab Mukherjee Indian politician, and senior leader in the Indian National Congress.
Nanaji Deshmukh A social activist from India, education, health, and rural self-reliance.
Bhupen Hazarika  Indian playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet, and filmmaker from Assam.
Bharat Ratna 2024 (Posthumously) Karpoori Thakur A renowned socialist leader and former Chief Minister of Bihar

First Three Bharat Ratna Award Winners

The Bharat Ratna Awards were distributed in 1954 first time. The first three Bharat Ratna award winners were C Rajagopalachari, CV Raman, and S Radhakrishnan. All three winners were from Tamil Nadu. C. Rajagopalachari was an Activist, statesman, and lawyer. Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan was India’s first Vice-President and second President. C. V. Raman was a Physicist, mathematician, and scientist. He is famous for his discoveries in physics like Raman Scattering and became the first Asian scientist to receive a Nobel Prize in any branch of science.

My Learning
Latest Updates 78%
The Insiders Talk
The Insiders Talk

We are working in Ed-Tech oragnization where we run multiple business and works on new ideas. Here we try to provide you write guidence for Government category exams.

Scroll to Top